Real Love.

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.” -1 Corinthians 13:1-3

The Lord has been teaching me about love. Real love. This is an area in my life where I fall easily into legalism. Going through the motions without really realizing what I’m doing and why I’m doing it. I forget to love others. I forget to love God. I feel I have to do his work and study the Word but then I stop to think, what is my motivation behind all this? Where is my joy? Where is my love for you, God? And it’s always hard when God brings you to that realization. But I’m so glad he does because I want to love so much more than I have been.

Love is a choice. It is something we should never take for granted. Just as the verses say above, we can do all these wonderful things but if we do not have any love then what was the point? I think I am only beginning to learn about how much God really loves me. I have always been taught that he does and people always say “God is love” but I don’t want to just hear those things. I want to experience them. I want God’s love to be evident in my life. I want people to see how much God loves me and how much I love him. I want to love others with God’s love. I want his love to increase so much in my life and I want my love for others to increase.

Father, increase my love for you. Increase my love for others. Let your love shine through my life and let me experience your love in a way I never have before. Help me to love the unlovable because you love me when I am unlovable. Give me your heart. -Amen.

“And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” – Matthew 22:37-39 

One thought on “Real Love.

  1. I always say that I’m a nicer person when I spend time with Jesus! And really, it’s true because I can tell the days I don’t get that early morning quiet time; it seems as though I’m more impatient and snappy. But when I get to sit down and allow His love to poor in and refresh me, it makes such a huge difference. Thank you for reminding me of His love and my desperate need for it!

Leave a Reply

